The Tasmanian Government is pleased to announce former police officer, Randolph Wierenga has been appointed as a deputy member of the Parole Board, while lawyer Kate Cuthbertson has been re-appointed as a member for another three years.

Last year, the Tasmanian majority Liberal Government delivered its 2018 election commitment to introduce legislation to ensure the Parole Board contained a member with policing experience and this appointment provides the board with an additional option to the existing member Mr David Plumpton.

Mr Wierenga joined Tasmania Police in 1979 and held a number of high level positions, including President of the Police Association of Tasmania, before resigning as an police officer in 2014.

I sincerely thank Mr Geoff Storr for his dedicated service to the Parole Board since 2007.

Elise Archer, Attorney-General