The 2019 Tasmanian Premier’s Literary Prizes have attracted a record number of entries, a clear demonstration of the talent and enthusiasm across Tasmania’s literary sector, which is an important and valued part of our arts sector.

The judges have been busy reading a total of 198 books, manuscripts and writing samples across the four prize categories: the Tasmania Book Prize; the Margaret Scott Prize; the University of Tasmania Prize; and the Tasmanian Young Writer’s Fellowship.

This year’s judges include esteemed writers, academics and industry professionals, including Professor Lucy Frost, Jane Rawson, Dr Robert Clarke, Dr Natasha Cica, Rohan Wilson and Dr Graeme Miles.

These literary experts have the important task of determining the longlists, shortlists and winners of each prize.

Once judging has been completed, all of the books will be distributed to Tasmania’s prison libraries.

The Premier’s Literary Prizes are presented by the Tasmanian Government through Arts Tasmania and also supported by the University of Tasmania and private philanthropists.

For more information about the prizes and judges, visit www.tasmanianartsguide/plp

Elise Archer, Minister for the Arts